Free Health Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

or call (844) 603-3075 for free quotes

Silverscript Health Insurance Company

Overall Rating1.151.151.151.151.15
Customer Service1.231.231.231.231.23
Network1.151.151.151.151.15
Plans1.381.381.381.381.38

Silverscript Insurers Company is part of a new and growing trend to provide prescription drug coverage through large pharmacy chains. The company is a wholly owned subsidiary of CVS Caremark Corporation originally established in 2005. Silverscript is a licensed Medicare part D provider whose only business revolves around providing supplemental prescription drug coverage to Medicare recipients.

Silverscript does not offer health insurance, but you can search for a company that does by entering your zip code in the box provided.

Providing prescription drug plans through pharmacies is quickly catching on across the United States. Pharmacies have discovered that they can offer such insurance policies at a more affordable rate when customers are willing to purchase all of their prescriptions through that pharmacy or one of its partners. Several nationally known pharmacies are adopting this practice, with some even offering on-site emergency nursing care for non-life-threatening emergencies.

Silverscript Prescription Plans

Although details vary from one state to the next, Silverscript offers plans in two basic categories:

Their Value plan is designed for Medicare eligible customers whose prescriptions are currently at a minimum but who want to protect themselves in case their health circumstances should change in the future. This plan provides low co-payments, deductibles, and reduced prescription prices through the CVS Caremark network of pharmacies.

Their second plan, known as the Plus plan, is a more comprehensive one designed for Medicare users regularly taking prescriptions. It costs a little bit more but it offers reduced prices for brand-name drugs as well as generics. Like the value plan, members of this plan purchase their prescriptions directly from a CVS pharmacy, Long’s Drugs, or through the CVS Caremark mail service. Individual details regarding your state can be found on the Silverscript website.

Silverscript Locations and Agents

Due to the nature of Silverscript’s business model there is no need for the company to maintain any offices other than their corporate headquarters. That said; there seems to be some contradiction as to where the company is currently based. Official business records from the state of Texas indicate the company is in Nashville, Tennessee. However, the company website lists a mailing address in Arizona. For your convenience, we have included both addresses below.

Silverscript Insurance Company
445 Great Circle Road
Nashville, TN 37228
Telephone: (615) 743-6616

Mailing Address:

Silverscript Insurance
P.O. Box 52193
Phoenix, AZ 85072-2193

In terms of agents, the company does not utilize them due to the nature of their business. Most customers will find out about Silverscript’s insurance policies through advertisements at a local CVS pharmacy or Long’s Drugs outlet. From there, more customers are realized simply by word of mouth. New customers would sign up for policies by visiting the company’s website or calling them using their toll-free enrollment number at 1-866-552-6106.

Silverscript Claims

As a Medicare provider, Silverscript claims service works mainly on a direct-to-provider basis. That means in most cases customers would simply show their ID card at the time a prescription is being filled, for a reduced rate. The difference between what the customer pays and the actual cost of the drug is then billed directly to Silverscript. In certain circumstances, it is possible that consumers would have to go through a reimbursement plan.

In such a case, customers might have to be charged the full price at the counter for the prescriptions. They would then fill out a reimbursement form and send it directly to Silverscript’s claims department. It’s not clear when this reimbursement plan is triggered, but it may be in cases where policyholders utilize a pharmacy that is out of Silverscript’s network. Regardless, consumers should try to stay within the network whenever possible or utilize the company’s mail services.

Silverscript Customer Service

Silverscript is still a new provider by insurance industry standards. Having only been formed six years ago in response to the federal government’s expanded prescription drug program, the company has nonetheless made great inroads into prescription drug coverage. They consistently receive positive reviews from within the industry as well as their customers. They have a good reputation for providing excellent service that is both comprehensive and fair.

To help their customers get the most from their policies they provide a series of resources on their website that are freely available. Some of those resources include a network pharmacy locator, an online educational library, and a full explanation of Medicare part D benefits. Customers with Internet access needs simply visit the corporate website and access the appropriate links on the left side of the page.

To help keep policyholders up to date on current happenings, Silverscript maintains a current news section on their website as well. Here consumers can learn about changes in the law, new drugs, changes in their policies, and so on. From this section, they also have access to downloadable forms and instructions.

Begin your search for health insurance plans now by entering your zip code.

 

Free Health Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

or call (844) 603-3075 for free quotes

47 reviews

  • Elizabeth Koffron-Eisen /
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    Interesting customer service. My husband and I are newly enrolled. Information on our initial cards was incorrect. “Contact us” lists only a telephone number. I am approaching a 30-minute wait.

    The fact that the card needed to be changed was brought to company’s attention on 12/14/11. At @10:30 AM, I informed the representative that the information was incorrect. Service Rep told me that I could not receive a corrected card until after the first of the year, but that a notation that a corrected card needed to be sent was now on our file.

    Perhaps an email address might also be given? I hope this is not typical of the customer service provided by SilverScript.

    Liz

  • Robert Conte /
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    I don’t know if it’s the new year, but you guys gotta get your act together .

    I have been calling for my meds, and you leave me on hold for 30 to45 mins at a time and still don’t give me any positive results. Three times I had to go back to my doctor and ask to fax script over and over again countless times,and you kept telling me it got lost.

    Right now I’m speaking to a rep to see if I can get this issue finalized, and as I’m asked to repeat my story people are laughing in the background. Now that’s the most unprofessional manner in which to deal with the public. I have been in public service for 23 years, and I’m totally disgusted with the way you handled my case. If I could find another way to get my meds I’d go running to the other.

    It’s sad when all that’s thought about is raping you for your benefits and money, and caring and compassion is out the window. My condolences go out to you. Someday you’ll be there and I hope you get treated better and with dignity.

  • Katherine P. /
    • 55555
    • 44444
    • 55555
    • 55555

    Actually, SilverScript Insurance is offered by many independent agents throughout the nation, in addition to calling the number listed in the article.

    As one of the people who take calls from the Independent agents who sell our plan, and formerly one of the many representatives who have taken the incoming enrollment calls to our call centers, I can assure you that you will receive the same information you receive through the website.

    It is your choice whether you prefer a local agent, using the online website or call into the call center to speak with someone over the phone.

  • DAVID JOY /
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    This has to be the worst company in the history of the world.

    I have been trying without success since January 1, 2012, to get some prescriptions to their mail order CareMark. I have talked endlessly to Reps, sent hundreds of E-mails on their website, filed multiple grievances with everyone from the CEO on down, only to receive insulting replies.

    I’m being ignored with every conceivable excuse. Their pharmacist is rude, insulting, and hangs up on people I rely on for my life. They tell outright lies.

    If you enjoy no service, insults, and frustration, this is definitely the company for you!

    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 33333
    • 22222

    This is no way to start a business relationship. They estimated wait time to be 12 minutes…on hold over 30 minutes and gave up. I would rather communicate by email but can’t find one anywhere!

    Received Invoice but no instructions such as, “Ignore this bill if you have opted for deduction of premium from your social security benefits.” Only instructions on how I can send them money. Not a good start!

  • Earl Tobin /
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    No new card, no customer service. I am on hold now 31 minutes, so far. Good thing I have a speaker phone. I can write this review. As with any CVS product, the service will suck.

    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    This has got to be the worst customer service I have seen barring only Verizon which is really crappy.

    It is 12/26/2012 and I still haven’t received my card for the new year. Waiting so far for over 35 minutes just to talk to someone. Listening to the horrible voice saying’ your call in the order received’ message is bad enough.

    I hope people read these reviews because this is bad service and needs to be changed.

    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    Worst customer service and phone service I have ever experience. There is no way around Silver Script auto phone answering system. If I had known this when I was considering a new prescription drug service I would never have subscribed. I’ll get another chance next year and I will not be back!

  • seph Walasinski /
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    I am just starting with silverscript the first of the year.

    I have called many times for certain information with little results. I have called twice this day, the first call was answered by a machine which sent me to customer service, after 45 minutes I was cut off, the second call went the same way except I was linked to an agent after a 48-minute wait.

    If this is the way they handle their clients I am afraid to think what will happen after I get my prescriptions filled. In plain words, so far it sucks.

  • martha bruce /
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    I am so sick of sitting on the phone waiting for next rep. They say 12 minutes but no one ever comes on the phone. Wish I would have checked these people out before signing on with them.

  • Elvin N Bryga /
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    I received a letter from SilverScript dated Nov 18, 2012, stating “When Medicare approves your enrollment into SilverScript Choice (PDP), we will send you a letter to confirm your enrollment….”. So far (Dec 30, 2012) no further communications from SilverScript.

    I placed a phone call, waited for 20 minutes for my call to be answered, was switched to another number that took 39 minutes to be answered. I checked previous reviews and it seems that this problem has existed for a year or more.

    If this is representative of the service I will receive from SilverScript throughout the year, then at least one of us will be unhappy in this relationship.

  • Mary Rosser /
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 22222
    • 22222

    I am a new Silverscipt customer. This is my second attempt to reach a real person at Silverscript. Last week I was on hold for at least 30 minutes. I gave up.

    Today, January 2nd, 2013, I have been on hold for over 60 minutes and I am about to give up. No one is answering the phone! Any ideas or suggestions? This is poor customer service… I sincerely hope this is not what I must deal with for the year…..

  • Janet Fox Myers /
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    1-03-13

    I called the customer service number and was on hold listening to awful pipe organ music for over an hour. The rep that took my call was polite but did not apologize for the long wait.

    I was on the phone with the rep for over 40 minutes for what I thought would be a simple procedure for an automatic premium payment deducted from my checking account.

    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    I might be the latest victim here.

    Somehow my plan has changed from Health Net to this Silverscript in beginning of this year, and they have already made a mistake of my prescription. I tried to correct this mistake by calling them, but I have been put on hold for more than 40 minutes and still no reply from the carriers.

    Is there any way to make a complaint about this? This is by far the most unprofessional provider I’ve been forced to put on with.

    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    I have been trying to get through to this company for three days!

    I have been on hold now for 47 minutes. I have not yet received my insurance card or any information. I switched over a month ago and I do have a confirmation number, but nothing else to show for it. I have no idea what to do!!!!

    This is the worst customer I know of so far. I regret choosing this company. Now that I have read other reviews, I don’t even know if they are for real. I wonder how many BBB reports there are, which I will be checking into next.

  • samuel hardin /
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    this seems to be the worst company ever, I called in to talk to someone a week ago to find out about drug stores to use, was on hold 45 min., told him I wanted my fees deducted from my check he said someone would call me in 2-3 days, so, I would not have to call in again, nobody called

    I called back in again and was on hold over an hour to talk to somebody. we have a couple good drug stores in town, I have used 1 for several years, ask if I could use them, the answer was no, I was told I have to use CVS, it is by far the worst drug store here. very dissatisfied with this company.

    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    Impossible to contact. Horrible customer service, no email contact. I have already enrolled in a different plan. I never enrolled in this one. I don’t know how I got stuck with it but I never would have chosen them. The worse

    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    This company is a JOKE!!!!

    I enrolled in December and was told I didn’t need to cancel my previous part D plan. That would happen automatically. I received my silverscript card, have my id, everything seemed fine. But, then I called Medco to refill a prescription and they still have my old part D plan listed for me.

    If they fill the script with the old plan, first off, I will have to pay quite a bit more and second, I will have to pay two deductibles. I have been on hold for FOUR HOURS today with silverscript. What’s the deal, did they screw up on everyone and this is why they can’t answer the phone or do they only have a few people working. It’s 1:00 am and I am still on hold. Unbelievable!

    I will have to see about changing companies. I guess the “extreme circumstance” would apply here.

    • 22222
    • 33333
    • 11111
    • 11111

    Update: I finally reached a very nice girl who said my account hadn’t been fully activated. My problem should be corrected in 48 hours.

    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    Unfortunately, SilverScript Health Insurance Company bought out HealthNet Orange so the administration of my brother’s Medicare PDP because hostage to SilverScript in late 2012.

    The poor management of this company became apparent when they sent a letter to my brother that was delivered 3 January 2013, which they back-dated to 20 December 2012. The content of the letter was the two critical medications that he has taken for decades and was on their 2012 Formulary HAD BEEN dropped from their 2013 Formulary.

    Consequently, they were NOT paying for these two (2) critical medicines unless they received their required paperwork from his doctor that justified the use of the medicines. The letter also stipulated that they needed at least 72 hours to review the paperwork for their approval.

    Also, they would notify him, if they were not approved. This is called a Pre-Authorization for exemption, which was ALREADY a matter of his records with his former PDP. He received the letter with 6 days of dosage left for his January 2013 supply.

    Immediately, I tried to call the 24-hour, 7 days a week consumer number given on the letter. Immediately, a recording answered saying I would be transferred to the next available representative. Immediately, I was transferred to a busy signal then disconnection. I searched the SilverScript website for ANY telephone number that could lead me to something other than the perpetual busy signals I kept getting.

    I finally tried a “special” number reserved for exemptions and connected with a representative who said even SHE had trouble making contact with internal SilverScript staff, but there was nothing that could be done. She said it was a doctor’s job to fill out paperwork, so get him to fill out the paper [again] or call in for an exception. She felt the medications would be approved.

    I ended up filing a Medicare Complaint and initiating the action to transfer my brother to a different Medicare PDP.

    I wish I had taken the time to check this ratings’ site when my brother got the letter that SilverScript was taking control over his PDP. What I do not understand is how Medicare could approve such a poorly run company to administer such an important life/death program.

  • john smart /
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 22222

    This is the worst company I have ever worked with.

    I have spent over 8 hr on the phone trying to get my account corrected and still not handled. My wife is also having problems with them and has spent many hours trying to get her account correct.

    Never again

  • john smart /
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 22222

    Worst company I have ever dealt with and will switch to someone competent next year. If you are thinking about this insurance co think again

    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    By far the worst company I have ever used. Confusing and inaccurate information (that is if you ever get through on their customer service line). Wait 30 min. or longer every time I call. Every representative gives you a different answer on the same question.

    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    Worst overall experience with an insurance company EVER.

    I have not needed a prescription in 7 months. Now I NEED one. For 6 days SilverScript-Caremark has been jerking me around. They are refusing to cover , one commonly covered medication. Each time I call I am told something different. My pharmacist has called AND my doctor has also called. STILL not covering this ONE script in SEVEN months that I have asked for!!!!!

    I have been jerked around and lied to. I am definitely changing companies and warning everyone not to use SilverScript-caremark-CVS part D. Even the pharmacist says this is the WORST company out there.This is a LIFE SUSTAINING medicine and I have already paid out-of-pocket for a weeks worth.

    What’s the use of even having insurance as terrible as this?

  • L Chickering /
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    What a nightmare this company is.

    We started prescription insurance coverage on January 1,2013, with SilverScript. After asking them to mail four prescriptions to our winter address, the four prescriptions were mailed to our summer address (January 3, 2013). We have not yet received them (January 31,2013). I have made MANY phone calls in the past month, spending most of the time on hold. I wish I would have kept a log.

    One time, I was on the phone for two and a half hours. Yesterday, I was on hold for an hour and fifteen minutes and I had to hang up because of another commitment. Now, I find that our credit card was billed TWICE on January 3, 2013, for over three hundred dollars per charge….for medicine we have never received. Today, I was on the phone with these people for an hour and a half….no one knows what is going on.

    I, too, have been thru the “Prior Authorization needed”…..involving numerous calls to the doctors’ offices….I would give just about anything to be able to get out of this plan.

    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 33333

    I WAS ON THE PHONE IN JANUARY FOR OVER TWO HOURS AND THE AGENT SAID THAT I HAV THE ADVANTAGE POLICY AND THAT I WAS OK TO GET MY MEDS, BUT ONE MONTH LATER THE SCRIPT WAS LANTACE AND I HAD TO PAY $106.OO BECAUSE OF A DEDUCTABLE BUT ITWAS TO $6.50,

    SO I CALLED AGAIN AND THE SAID AFTER ANOTHER TWO HOURS THAT IT WAS FIXED , BUT THEY FORGOT TO HANG UP THEIR PHONE AND I HEARD THE LAUGHING IN THE BACKGROUND SAYING THAT I BET THAT THEY ALMOST GAVE ME A HEART ATACK FIXING THIS POLICY THIS IS A BULL S*** COMPANY…..

    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    Horrible service.

    Every new prescription is a nightmare of many calls and being transferred. I am amazed the prescriptions are correct, I hope.

    This company cannot handle any paperwork. Every doctor I have been to seems to have the same issue according to SilverScript in that orders are ‘not faxed’ in. Then all of a sudden SilevrScript finds the multiple orders that were sent because they never received and then SilverScript sends multiple shipments.

    Customer Service Can never resolve an issue the first call.

  • Patrick M. /
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    I had run out of my medication and asked the customer service rep if he would overnight my mail order drug prescription. He outright LIED to me and said that he would send it overnight for a fee.

    They use UPS express mail, which is not overnight service, and its taking 4 days to receive the order. Oh, and they charged me $23 for the so-called overnight shipment.

    How can I trust these people to do business with in the future when they are this dishonest?

  • Larry S /
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    I have been with SilverScript for about 6 years and I have recently stopped using them for pill prescriptions. They are a joke, wrong meds, wrong address, delay after delay and you can’t get the truth out of customer service.

    The best way to deal with customer service is to ask to speak to a supervisor when they answer the phone insist on a supervisor. I truly don’t know how they stay in business.

    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    I thought only the government was this screwed up, but this company makes the government look efficient. I had only a short wait to get my call answered, but the person that answered did not have a clue how to so the simplest thing.

    Going by the “rules” that were given to my doctor and to me by the local CVS pharmacist, my doctor prescribed a three-month mail script via computer, but I needed to pick up some locally to hold me until the mail in order arrived. But the “rule” given to both of us was that he could only give me 7 days worth.

    Well, it usually takes 2 weeks for a mail in to arrive, so of course, I ran out. Then the nightmare began. I called the local Pharmacy and they said I need approval from the mail order people to get an over ride or I would have to pay the full price out of my pocket for the additional week of meds. So I called. Like most of the reviews here I was on hold for about 45 minutes after I actually got a rep. She came back on to tell me to keep waiting as she was trying to get an answer from their help desk. So I said you are the help desk.

    Well, apparently they are so incompetent that they need a help desk for their help desk. Back on hold. Then I got switched to a different rep and had to tell the whole story all over again. She told me that there was no such 7-day rule and the doctor could have written it for up to 90 days. This after I had just been told there was such a rule by the local pharmacist.

    So after over an hour on the phone, they said there was nothing they could do and I would have to pay full price out of pocket anyway. All that frustration and time on the phone just to be told we had to pay for it ourselves anyway. I was ready to scream!!!!!

    So my wife went to the CVS pharmacy to get my refill as the mail order ones were still a week out. After driving to the doctor to get the written script, she went to the closest CVS pharmacy. She was told the computers were down and had been all day. So she went grocery shopping and tried again. the computers were still down so they told her to go to our usual CVS pharmacy as they knew her and would be able to fill it.

    So she drives all the way across town only to be told that the computers were down nationwide and they were unable to fill any scripts. So I guess that means that every CVS pharmacist in the country was being paid to play poker or something since they have no procedure to fill a script when the computer system goes down. Then she decided to just go to a non-CVS Pharmacy and the pharmacist there was at lunch and not due back for an hour. So off to another pharmacy where it finally got filled.

    we started this at 9:00 AM and from then until I finally got my script it was 2:30 PM. All the time getting nothing but misinformation and a complete lack of service throughout the entire day from silverscript.

    Silverscript has got to have the worst customer service and complete lack of any forward thinking or planning I have ever experienced. I am stuck with them as my insurance is under Caremark which transferred all medicare patients to silverscript the first of the year.

    If I had a choice, I would never stay with these morons. If you have a choice, do yourself a favor and go to a different company. The fact that tens of thousands of people across the country could not get their scripts filled because of a computer breakdown is totally absurd to me.

    A total idiot would have come up with procedures to allow scripts to be filled in case of a computer breakdown, but I guess an idiot is too intelligent for these folks. Especially as a retired computer tech, I know that computers and systems break down every day!!!

  • Frances M Gill /
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    In early October I was overcharged by Silverscript for a specific drug. The problem was the plan’s failure to credit one payment source. The co-pay was correct the month before and the month after this overcharge. In mid-November, I began the process of requesting a refund for the overcharged amount.

    Five months later I have not received this despite numerous calls by me, the help with multiple calls by a Benefits Advocate hired by the University, and a formal, written appeal. Every excuse provided by Silverscript has been unresponsive to the issue and untrue: pharmacy failed to collect from all payers, my plan had changed, I had not received prior approval for an early refill (not true), and on the denial of the written appeal – the drug has already been paid for.

    It would take two minutes of some official’s time to see the error and rectify it. It was an obvious mistake on their part. Don’t blame me; just send me the refund.

  • Phil Jorgensen /
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 44444

    I see by all the reviews that I am not the only person having trouble with this company. I have even contacted my Senator and have a letter from Medicare and Medicaid Services stating how this company will soon resolve my billing issues, what a joke still waiting to have calls returned, still no invoice.

    Been dealing with this since last Novmerber (2012). What a tragedy. I think Mr. Merlo needs to get a handle on his company.

  • margaret hornstra /
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    I manage a doctor’s office. This week alone we have had 5 patients call our office and inform us that this Rx plan contacted them saying their physician has not responded to refill requests. We did not receive any refill request for these patients.

    Most pharmacies send refill requests electronically over the internet and a few continue to use fax. I was concerned that this company has incorrect contact information for our office and I requested that each patient contact the company and relay that we are not getting refill requests and they need to contact us to rectify the problem.

    One person was able to get a customer service rep to contact us. I was informed that all refill requests are handled by phone contact??? This hasn’t been a common practice for over 10 years because it is prone to errors and is highly inefficient.

    Bottom line is nobody yet has been concerned that we are not getting notified that patients need their medication. Avoid this company if possible. Costco has very competitive costs for medications.

  • Danny Hanning /
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    Silver script has the worst customer service I have ever encountered.

    They refuse to follow Medicare guidelines and contact my doctor regarding a prior authorization for a medication I have taken for TEN years. On 5/28/13 my pharmacy refused to fill a Rx because “you are taking too many pills”. However, I am taking my medications as prescribed by my doctor.

    Silver script wants to cut my prescription and force me to make a 30 prescription last 34 days! On 5/29/13 I called ss. Eventually, I spoke with a Supervisor @ Ss told me “I will take care of this problem you will have no problem filling your next prescription.

    Tomorrow is the “next prescription” and my pharmacy say that they will not pay (ss). I am filing a complaint with Medicare, the BBB and I am investigating if they broke civil or criminal laws.

  • Natalie R. Kauffman /
    • 33333
    • 44444
    • 11111
    • 55555

    The only good thing about this company is the plan I am in and the courtesy and patience of the customer service reps.

    I am 70+ years old and have never worked with a more incompetent company in my life. From the outset, I have called complaining about not receiving my bill so I can pay monthly. I finally got 2 bills.

    In June I received a letter stating that they apologized for the billing delays and that I would be receiving bills covering April/May and June/July. They indicated that I would be getting bills on a regular basis. No problem there, but now it is almost the end of August and I still have not received a bill for Aug. or Sept.

    I was told by the rep that they use a third party for billing. That’s understandable but if they are having thousands of people calling and complaining about the same issue, it is obvious that the third party is

    breaching its contract by not performing their duties. I can’t believe that a company as large as CVS/Caremark is not using its recourse to either fire the billing company or sue them. In the past 8 months, I have filed 3 grievances and 2 formal complaints to Centers for Medicare and Medicaid and a third one is being prepared as I write this.

    I am also recommending to the Lieut. Governor of Missouri and its Medicare/Medicaid department to deny approval ofSilver Script to provide Part D services in this state. As if seniors don’t have enough problems with this stupid Part D, the last thing we need is to have to keep calling Customer Service to get a bill.

    Don’t they want to get paid? From what I have read so far I think we can all agree that this company is not ready for prime time. I also filed another grievance with the company today. The 3 star rating does not represent the company at large; rather it indicates that I am happy with the customer service reps (who are themselves justifiably frustrated that they cannot get straight answers from corporate as to what the problem is with the billing company)and the plan I chose is perfect for my needs. If only corporate could get their heads out of their ….. everything would be fine.

  • GORDON CORNELL LAYNE /
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    I have just wasted over four hours (9-4-13, from 5:17 to 9:18) writing a comprehensive documented statement in this Unstable space to be of Help and Encouragement to Everyone who is being taken for an Unenjoyable Slayride by SilverScript, only to have the entirety get dissolved into “Never-Never Land”; so I can’t even begin to start all over again, since the Pain has grown so huge using the same type of undependable e-mail that stupid Silicon Valley Designed to be Frustratingly Unreliable!

    Just keep Fighting this SS System as Long and Hard as you ALL CAN! Interestingly, Adolph chose this same double (SS) to identify his most trusted unremittingly cruel Proponents of Supremacy!

    Incidentally, I didn’t forget to rate SilverScript by awarding them stars: personally I don’t feel they DESERVE even ONE star so Why Must You FORCE a contributor to rate them Against WILL?

    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    This is without a doubt the most underhanded, nasty, corrupt, ugly, deceptive, cruel Insurance program that I have ever encountered. They go beyond your wildest dreams on dreaming up ways to put the screws to their customers. There is nothing decent about how this Company operates.

    I could go on for hours listing the difficulties with this Company. Whoever is the CEO of this Company must be the most evil of creatures who orders all his workers to cheat the customers out of their money at all costs or be fired.

    Where do these monsters come from? And Medicare rated this Company tops when I sort their recommendation on their website. And Medicare has been absolutely no help with my problems with this Company.

    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    Absolutely the worst service ever. None of the reps know how to use the system, you’re on hold forever, and the prescriptions get lost and need to be verified by your doctor’s office several times. Silver Script is a nightmare.

    Please stay away from this program or you will regret it!

  • Clint Grosse /
    • 11111
    • 22222
    • 11111
    • 22222

    I changed my Medicare RX supplement company to Silver Script during the enrollment period in late ’12, for ’13. During ’13 I had no issues. My local pharmacy was a preferred provider and under my plan my prescriptions were free. So, I signed up again for ’14.

    However, Silverscript contacted my pharmacy only two days before a new requirement for my pharmacy to submit application to be a preferred provider, rather than just renewing. With no time to activate the application, my pharmacy is no longer a preferred provider.

    I learned of this when I first refilled my prescription a couple of weeks ago, in late January, when I had to pay a portion of my prescription cost. Silver Script is apparently using this late application device to eliminate independent pharmacies. Truly despicable.

    I’ll continue to use my local, independent pharmacy, rather than change to a big box as Silver Script would like. As soon as possible, I’ll cancel my policy and change to a more customer oriented company.

  • Deborah Cogley /
    • 11111
    • 33333
    • 11111
    • 11111

    I HAD SILVERSCRIPT PART D RX COVERAGE IN 2013. I LET IT CARRY OVER AUTOMATICALLY TO 2014 AND THEY CHANGED MY MEDICATION TIERS SO THAT MY DRUGS WOULD BE VERY EXPENSIVE!

    GREEDY! RIP OFF! AND SUCKS YOU IN WTH REASONABLE DRUG COST THEN CHANGES WHAT THEY KNOW YOU HAVE BEEN TAKING!

  • Lorraine /
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    My mother had Silverscript for prescriptions. Following her death, I neglected to cancel bill pay to them for her premium for several months. So today I spoke with them about getting that money back.

    It took them one hour and 17 minutes to tell me that they had refunded me half of that money (which her bank has no record of) and that I would need to have one of three documents, all requiring me to hire an attorney to have drawn up, for them to consider refunding the part of money they say they owe.

    I’m not sure why they didn’t require this when they supposedly refunded half of it. The woman on the phone knew very little and provided me with several sets of wrong instructions before coming up with this final set that I have shared here. In sum, the money will remain with them (because it would cost me more than it is worth to get it back) and they know that.

    Seems like thievery to me, pure and simple. Avoid this company at all costs. If zero stars were possible that is what I would give them.

  • fedupwithinsurancecompanies /
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    I am a nurse practitioner. I would strongly advise against Aetna CVS also known as Silverscript. Their formulary is terrible.

    I have encountered many situations in which they refuse to authorize Rx. In one particular situation, they refused to pay for a drug and recommended 2 other drugs. The 2 recommended drugs are on the Beers list and not recommended for a geriatric patient, which was this case.

    In addition, tonight, I have gone around and around trying to get them to authorize my patients IV antibiotics. There are no substitutions allowed due to the culture and her renal status. Do they think we just order these drugs without rationale? Why have my patient’s IV antibiotics been delayed for 10 hours now?

    Also, their customer service has limited hours, no evening or night hours, which can further be challenging to get the drugs we need. Drop this plan and move to a better part D plan

    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    This company is horrible! Do NOT sign up for this unless you have excellent mental health coverage. You will need it to cope with the runaround, placating, delays of ill-trained customer service reps.

    I have been hung up on, left on hold for more than an hour at a time, promised numerous 72-hour call backs that do not happen, all in an effort to correct billing errors for over one month. They continue to bill for a ‘Choice’ plan when a ‘Basic’ was selected.

    I am seriously concerned for seniors and the disabled who may not be able to counter such unfair and outright fraudulent business practices and am considering filing a formal complaint with our state’s insurance commission.

    Research shows problems in several states with this company- I was enrolled via our state’s senior health insurance program!

  • Barbara Edwards /
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    I have tried since Dec. 19th, 2013 to resolve an issue of a Medigap penalty which this company failed to estimate. Not until May 6th 2014 did they inform me of the amount.

    I have now learned that they are billing me in a lump sum of nearly $400 and will electronically remove funds from my checking account on June 6th. I would not even have known this if I had not been persistent in my calls to their customer agents now totally counting at least eight. All I get are apologies and promises but no action.

    I have tried to make payment arrangements but I can get no one from their billing to contact me as promised. I have been hijacked, blindsided, and locked into an enrollment that I cannot get out of. Even a Medicare representative said this should never have happened and they were responsible for the error.

    This is the most despicable insurance company that I have ever dealt with.

  • James Branson /
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    First of all, let me say I would give NO stars to their rating if that were an option.

    I have been dealing with their incompetence for 3 months and have yet to have my problems resolved and they cannot tell me who I need to contact to resolve the problems.

    As I retired at the end of 2014, I had had complete insurance coverage with my previous employer for the last 7 and a half years and had included verification when I applied for my Medicare part D and prescription coverage with SilverScript. During the interim, someone at either Medicare or SilverScript had decided that I had no coverage for the last 43 months of my employment and wrote that I would be charged a penalty for my coverage because of it.

    After at least 6 phone calls of no less that 30 minutes each, some over 50 minutes and numerous copies sent of confirmation again of my former employers coverage, my problem still has not been resolved. I mentioned to each of the “new” customer service representatives the other reps I spoke with by name and gave them each complete information about my previous phone calls … dates, names and length of calls. There was no record of my having talked with anyone and they did not know who the other reps were.

    As my prescriptions ran out and needed refills, I requested refills from my doctor, which were sent to SilverScript/CVS Caremark where they sat until I made more phone calls finding out that they needed more information from my doctor’s office. After my doctor’s office called them again with the prescription info and confirmed that the prescription was to be filled and mailed immediately, I waited 7 days with no prescription in the mail.

    Another phone call, once to be disconnected after 15 minutes of explaining the situation to yet another customer service rep and then having to call a second time, the second rep telling me ‘there is no information concerning the doctor’s office call and to please have my doctor call them.

    Whatever your prescription service choice may be for your Medicare Part D, absolutely DO NOT choose SilverScript.

    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    I called silver script support yesterday to find out why I could not see my prescriptions on the cvs/caremark site. I spent over 45 minutes on the phone with the worse customer support person I have ever worked with, she asked me time and again if she had completed my request. She even asked if a doctor had prescribed my meds.

    I kept telling her I could not see my data on the website, I requested a supervisor 18 times, she kept saying I did not need one that she had helped me with everything I had asked for. she said the line was being recorded, I said fine. After at least 1 hour she finally gave me a supervisor, I explained my problem, he connected the system support person and within 5 min. my problem was fixed.

    I called the Nashville headquarters today at 615-743-6600 and only got a recording. If I knew my parties extension I could leave a message. No help. Good thing they have good insurance with a fair price or I would go somewhere else.

  • RK Pennington /
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111
    • 11111

    I just read your reviews and I don’t think I want to do business with Silver Script. Have you read them??

Leave a Review

Your email address will not be published.


top